2018 Essendon VFL and VFLW Best and Fairest Night 27/9/2018





Trivia answer=Quigley
Qtn=EFCW first ever goal





I told youse alll Bullas was hotter than Williams.


Go for it @theDJR and the winner is…





our VFL womens team has more ink than our AFL team.




So Heppell wins it.
Heppell might take out the VFL and AFL B & F



Just over a fortnight after she was named in the VFLW Team of the Year as a forward pocket, the tenacious midfielder added a club championship to an outstanding 2018 season.

Bullas polled 183 votes to finish the count in first place ahead of winger Courtney Ugle (160 votes) and defender Bec Neaves (159 votes).

The 22-year-old joined the Bombers from former VFLW club Diamond Creek and was the youngest member of Essendon’s seven-piece inaugural leadership group.

Across an outstanding season, Bullas’ ferocious tackling and match-by-match consistency saw her blossom into an integral part of the midfield.

Further winners at the Essendon VFL & VFLW Best & Fairest Night were midfielder Nat MacDonald (Rising Star Award) and leadership group members Lauren Morecroft and Jess Trend, who tied for the VFLW Clubwoman of the Year.

Forwards Alex Quigley and Valerie Moreau finished in a dead-heat for the leading goalkicker award with seven goals each.


Bullas 183

Ugle 160

Neaves 159

Nalder 152

Trend 150


Aaron Heppell has emerged from a strong pack to win his second R.A Freeman Medal as the best and fairest Essendon VFL player for 2018.

After a consistent and versatile season, the vice-captain received his second gong in five years at The Hangar at the VFL Men’s and Women’s Best & Fairest night at Fenix Events.

The 23-year-old finished the count with 290 votes ahead of second-placed Nick Hind (251 votes) and third-placed Dylan Clarke (249 votes).

Heppell averaged 20 disposals, four clearances and five tackles across his 18 games in 2018 with his tireless commitment to playing whatever role was required of him the hallmark of his game.

It was a case of déjà vu for Heppell, who was announced as a half-back in the VFL Team of the Year at the J.J Liston Trophy count just over a fortnight ago.

It’s the second time the midfielder-defender has completed the double after claiming his first R.A Freeman Medal and Team of the Year back in 2016.

Jamieson Sheahan claimed the Best First-Year Player Award, while captain Heath Hocking was the recipient of the coveted Jack Feain Best Clubman Award.

Small forward Danny Younan walked away with the leading goalkicker award after finishing the home and away season with 35 goals, ranked third in VFL.


Heppell 290

Hind 251

Clarke 249

Merrett 211

Zerk-Thatcher/Draper 209


Thanks for reporting Hoffa and DJR.


Heppel is capable of being our lock down small defender I reckon