Any reason why the Ambrose tackle wasn't paid as holding the ball? Hill threw the ball out. It wasn't knocked out in the tackle.
Hawthorn were very very “lucky” about 15 times we tackled them in the last, that the ball just happened to be “knocked out” of the tackle at exactly the same moment they had a team-mate running past, and it “luckily” landed straight in their laps. What are the chances?
Hill was clearly looking around for a team-mate around before he dropped it. Had clear control of the ball, Ambrose’ tackle didn’t really pin his arms too effectively.
It’s good coaching by them, the rule isn’t really all that clear IMHO what is dropped vs what is knocked out vs what is a throw, they make the absolute most of that grey area.
Agree with this though. Saw them do that a number of times. Don’t think it happened here, there was no one to “drop” it too.
Edit: Dont want to labor this, coz it’s really all “whatever, we won”, but, looking again, I just realised he only “drops” it, when he realises he’s going down, on his back, & hard, and he tries to get the only arm he could do, behind him to take a bit off the body slam he knows is coming … in the end his judgement on that was pretty spot on. Has he gotten up yet?
I re-watched the game yesterday and went over this. Other than kicking, he could’ve done abso-■■■■■■-lutely anything he wanted, while Ambrose was tackling him.
He had both arms free (and he kept them free rather than using them to cushion his fall), he looked left, he looked right. And took about 3-4 steps basically in that situation.
Incorrect any day of the week.