NRL 2023

Got me buggered. I will have a chat tomorrow with a bloke at work who knows a shitload more about League than I do. Hopefully he will be able to give me the answer, then I can let you know.

1 Like

From GPT:

If the Broncos perform a goal-line dropout, and the ball is kicked and bounces in play before crossing the sideline, the outcome will be different. Here’s what happens in that scenario:

  1. If the ball bounces in play before crossing the sideline, it is still considered in play.
  2. The opposing team, in this case, the Storm, has the opportunity to catch or field the ball and start their attacking set from the point where they catch the ball.
  3. There is no scrum awarded in this case. Instead, play continues as if it were a regular kick receipt by the Storm. They will have the option to run the ball back or set up for their attacking set.

So, if the ball bounces in play before crossing the sideline during a goal-line dropout, the game continues with the Storm in possession at the point where they field the ball, and no scrum is formed.

What happens if a Storm player touches the ball?

If the Broncos perform a goal-line dropout, and the ball touches a Storm player (or any player from either team) before going out of bounds, the outcome is a restart of play with a scrum. Here’s how it works:

  1. If the ball touches a player before going out of bounds, it’s considered to have been played at.

  2. A scrum will be awarded to the team (either the Broncos or the Storm) that did not touch the ball last before it went out of bounds. The team awarded the scrum will have the loosehead feed.

  3. The scrum will be formed at the point where the ball went out of bounds, or if the touch occurred in-goal, the scrum will be formed 10 meters out from the goal line.

So, in summary, if the ball touches a player (other than the kicker) before going out of bounds during a goal-line dropout, a scrum is awarded to the non-offending team at the point where the ball went out of bounds.


It seems like the refs (incorrectly) called that Munster touched the ball - but it was so clearly not the case - why didn’t the Storm protest?

No, you have it wrong.
A goal line drop out that finds touch results in the team that kicked it getting the scrum feed.
I remember the play well and Adam Reynolds spots that all the Storm players had crept up so be kicked it over their heads and it landed in play and then into touch at the halfway line. Therefore Brisbane get the scrum feed.


That doesn’t really make sense that Brisbane can just kick the ball out of bounds with a bounce and retain possessions??
Isn’t the point of that drop out to return possession to the other team?

Also the rule interpretation says there should be no scrum and that Storm should possess the ball

“If the ball bounces in play before crossing the sideline during a goal-line dropout, the game continues with the Storm in possession at the point where they field the ball, and no scrum is formed.”

We are witnessing the slow death of team contact sport aren’t we?

Watch this a couple of times and tell me if you can see anything worth a one week suspension let alone 4.
This is worse than Sicily copping 4 for that tackle and that was mind-blowing in itself.

It shouldn’t be easy to do. The Storm weren’t set up properly.

Yep, the Storm players had all pushed up which I can understand as he was kicking a wet ball and it was raining so I doubt anyone thought he could kick it 45m. Was a freakish kick and a very rare sight to see

1 Like

You clearly don’t know the rules of Rugby League (I don’t know all of them myself), but to come in and suggest they’re wrong because NFL is different is arrogance at its worst.

No-one cares about your interpretation of the rules. Ask for clarification, sure, but don’t get your nads in a twist over them.

Thanks @Aceman. I watch enough League that I know most of the rules, but had never seen that and couldn’t find it in their Laws of the Game.

Play nice @Alan_Noonan_10. He is trying to learn but the rules available from a casual search are vague on this point.

1 Like

Playing nice is not in my nature. I struggle with particular attitudes.

This is why i missed out on a career in the Diplomatic Corps…and retail…and counselling…

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

I know, that’s why I had to remind you, otherwise you scare away all the nice new peoples.

I wasn’t talking about NFL , or my opinion of the rules, I was quoting NRL rules via GPT and trying to understand how it made sense based on the events in question.

Wikipedia says this

This kick (Goal line drop-out) must travel over the 10-metre line before it is touched by either team. The goal line drop-out usually gives possession back to the opposing team.

The drop-kicking team might attempt to gain possession by executing a short kick and have their players attempt to reach the ball before the other team does; but this carries the risk that the other team could gain possession very close to the try-line. The drop-kicking team might also attempt to gain possession by kicking the ball so that it bounces before going into touch; in that event they would be awarded head and feed at the resulting scrum.

My question was around that first statement which is that I thought the point of the goal-line drop out was for the defending team (Broncos) to RETURN POSSESSION back to the attacking team.
So in this case, WHY did they receive possession AFTER the goal-line drop out?
On the NRL web site, it says “Error - Cameron Munster” which implies that he touched the ball - BUT HE DIDNT , hence my question whether the referree made an error.

On Wikipedia (the second bolded statement) it matches what Aceman said - but contradicts the way GPT was quoting the rules - hence my confusion (and the NRL website implying that Munster made an error of touching the ball)

Alan you’re actually being the ■■■■■■■ here with your response, I’m not arguing with anyone , clearly i DONT know the fcking rules of RUgby League , which is why I’m trying to understand these confusing moments by actually referring to the rules at the heart of the game.
e.g. Why did Harry Grant get called for “6 again” when he wasn’t anywhere near the ruck?
Why did Broncos get possession back after a drop out?
Its actually not a simple thing to understand the PENALTIES that occur just by watching it .

Thanks for your help anyway

1 Like

GPT still says this; clearly it’s giving me wrong information (if Wikipedia is considered correct)

If the Broncos kick a goal-line dropout, and the ball bounces in the field of play before going out of bounds, and neither team touches the ball before it goes out of play, the outcome is as follows:

  1. A 20-meter restart scrum will be awarded to the receiving team, which, in this case, would be the Storm. The scrum will be formed at the point where the ball went out of bounds, which is 20 meters from the Broncos’ goal line.
  2. The Storm will have the feed to the scrum and an opportunity to start their set of six tackles from that position.

I appreciate your patience, and I apologize for any earlier inaccuracies in my responses. The source for these rules is the NRL (National Rugby League) rulebook and standard rugby league rules.

@eckorock, after Aceman’s input, I think the reason Cameron Munster was called for an error was because he allowed the ball to bounce over the sideline , and because he was the nearest player to the ball when it did.

Is GPT that AI thing?

Why would anyone treat that as gospel?

yeah nah, back Ace in over chatgpt.

We better have it written on the whiteboard as a non negotiable to batter the ■■■■ out of Jarome Luai’s shoulder tomorrow night. Give it a thorough working over.

Kline called about 5 x 6 agains for the Roosters that wouldn’t normally be called.
Mostly in the 2nd half.
He had a horror night.

Link doesn’t work for me?