The vibe

OK, I‘m going to put this out there, but please take note of the following

1.        I have no knowledge of any of the players available to be drafted this year

2.       My entire assessment is based on a ‘vibe‘

3.       Everything can change between now and draft day (in terms of the information available to those of us on the outside), which can change the vibe entirely.

That being said, I reckon this is going to be a draft that is all over the place, and which is looked back on in 5 years with either a lot of ‘wow, how did they miss X, Y and Z‘, or in the worst case with ‘wow, what a terrible draft‘.

I‘ve watched a number of highlights vids recently (both ‘draft machine‘ and the more meaningful yt ones with both positive and negative contributions).  Very very few have made me think that the players being highlighted have the tools required for the AFL.  I understand that these videos are meaningless and don‘t even give you the tiniest glimpse into what the players are like on the field, let alone all of the other stuff that makes up the person and which ultimately makes the difference between a superstar and a Damien Cupido.  But given the limitations there are things you expect to see in highlights videos that aren‘t there in a lot of them.

Add to this a few other things and I start to question whether :

a.       The “internet gurus” have it wrong, or

b.      Is it just a weak pool?

Things that bother me: