I got some feedback from my enquiry to AFL on the htb decisions - Saad this year and McKenna last year.
Their internal review last year found the McKenna htb was an umpire error, as that brief non impeding shorts tug should not have counted as a correct tackle. They do consider Saad was htb, although I disagreed with the reasoning which was that the tackle hit before he got the ball back.
So net result - McKenna call should not happen again. It’s not touch football after all - hooray. Saad was clearly considered close, and while I don’t like the reasoning given for the call, I’d agree it’s an arguable instance for different reasons (how immediate is immediate disposal with prior?)
I was impressed I even got a response, so props to them.
I reckon they seem better this year, and not just because they replied in this case!