Gai Williams - Board nominee

I have nominated for the Board and I would like to generate some discussion around what members would expect from the Board and what they would like to see happen at the club in the next few years free from the saga of the past. I am a community pharmacist with a great deal of business and board experience but I am also a great listener and networker. 40% of our members are female and that is not represented in our board structure. I am NOT a feminist but I do believe I would bring a new perspective to the board and I am certainly passionate about the club.

welcome Gai!

an easy question to start with - how did you become an Essendon supporter? :slight_smile:

I am NOT a feminist.

Hi Gai,

I am not trying to be a smart ar%se, but I think you will find that you are a feminist, as indeed are 95% of the Essendon membership and indeed the wider Australian community (including 95% of males):

Feminism is a range of movements and ideologies that share a common goal: to define, establish, and achieve equal political, economic, cultural, personal, and social rights for women. This includes seeking to establish equal opportunities for women in education and employment. A feminist advocates or supports the rights and equality of women.

Feminist movements have campaigned and continue to campaign for women’s rights, including the right to vote, to hold public office, to work, to earn fair wages or equal pay, to own property, to education, to enter contracts, to have equal rights within marriage, and to have maternity leave. Feminists have also worked to promote bodily autonomy and integrity, and to protect women and girls from rape, sexual harassment, and domestic violence.

A pharmacist?

Oh no…

Welcome Gai. I’m all for another female board member to represent our club and I’m interested in finding out more about you.

Two questions to start with.

1. What compelled you to nominate for the EFC board (aside from representing female members).