The Low-Carb Craze

All things Keto, Paleo, Atkins, Carnivore, Vegan/Vegetarian Keto, or your own version of Low-Carb, whatever that looks like.
Let’s loosely define Low Carb as approx 25% of total calories or less.
Some persuasions, such as Keto & Carnivore, will naturally be significantly lower than this.

So…
Why did you choose low carb ?
Are you satisfied with the results in terms of weight loss & health markers ?

Use this thread to post recipes, daily macros, report personal progress (for accountability purposes), list any books/articles or studies/major influencers, favourite products etc…

Okay, so I’ll begin with my story…

I’m Italian, therefore have a deep affection for all those wonderful Carb heavy foods present in a Wog household growing up.
Pasta and bread…yes please, can’t get enough.
Potatoes and rice…yep
Cannoli, crostoli, tiramisu…heavenly !
Further to this, I was a Qualified Baker for 10 years.
I LOVE my bread.

I cannot consume these foods in moderation.
I probably possess the Ancestral adaptations to process these foods in sensible amounts from a blood sugar perspective, but I don’t have the discipline, and it causes me to eat more frequently and over eat at each sitting.

In 2009 I was in decent condition.
In my late 30’s, about 85kg with some modest muscle development.
I had just completed a Personal Trainers course, but elected not take it further in terms of career.
This will sound familiar to many.
85kg creeps up to 90kg, then that becomes the new normal, the new set point.
Another couple of years elapse, the scale begins to reveal 93,94,95.
Once again, that number becomes the new normal.
You purchase some new jeans, and carry on.
One day, you tick over the 100kg threshold and tell yourself “that’s it, it’s diet time”.
With my workplace shutting its doors for good, the distraction prevented me from starting a healthier lifestyle sooner, so 100kg turned into 105.5kg by 1/1/17.