Training Feb 5th 2022

Watching the boys train this morning. Got to see the first hour before being read the riot act to get home and back to bed. heh. Report soon…

17 Likes

Back to bed?

You better not have any symptoms.

Nothing like that. Internal problems.

Gastro?

5 Likes

Ingrown hair? Toenail?

Do we need to amputate?

Someone needed you in bed. Lucky for some!

2 Likes

@CJohns is hard at work.

30 Likes

Beautiful day at the hangar today. I am sure a few will give much more detailed reports, as this is my first time I have been, and aren’t too familiar with quite a few of the players. I will try and answer any questions people have though.

First off, Stringer and Dev didn’t train with the group, although they were around and talking with the players. Don’t seem perturbed by any problems. Probably just lighter loads for them. Jones and Lav was running laps, but both seem ready to resume full training. No sign of Zak Reid. May have been indoors. Lav in particular wandered over to Voss in the marking drill and was giving some good feedback on positioning. Showing good leadership.

No match Sim today, from what I saw there, just running a lot of different drills, refining the system that Truck wants to implement. One drill I did take note of, was the mid fielders. if blocked, taking the next best option, usually a pass, and doing it at speed. There was no delay. They picked it, and went for it. designed I think for more ball speed. This drill there was no dodging. Just interesting to see.

Other other thing I liked seeing is the bigger players practicing body positioning, and marking over Truck, who was wearing the marking bag. They all did quite well, but Francis twice launched himself quite high to grab it at its highest point, bringing applause from the other players, and the few spectators watching. He looked good at training. He takes the ball at height in front of his face all the time. Technically excellent.