That’s right. I would add that even today that if you barge through a tackle and correctly dispose, you are not (generally) going to be penalized (noting higher probability that if you wear an Essendon jumper). It just underlines that the umpires understand that you have to be held for contact to be considered a tackle.
The issue is that there seems to be a much broader interpretation of what “held” means if you are bouncing the ball. Both McKenna and Saad were only very lightly touched, with that contact having little effect on their movement. Both were HTB, and dingus identifies that “the tackle doesn’t have to be any good if you’re bouncing”. So if you are bouncing, a fingertip “holds” you. If you are not bouncing, if you can dispose, you’re not being held.
Didn’t know that this is like touch rugby.
Edit: Lucky Stewart was not pinged for his run and pass to JoeD - key difference is that there is about 2 seconds between the bounce and the attempted tackle - but if he was bouncing at the time of the tackle, or immediately beforehand - sure it would have been HTB. Just shows the inconsistency.