We Are a Club That Like to Develop Our Own

I have no inside knowledge of the club but the title of the thread is something I’ve heard Dodoro say on numerous occasions.

Is this a smokescreen for the fact we have landed very few trade targets, and apart from BJ, have not been able to land a big fish in God knows how long.

Well here is a tip Essendon we have been trying to develop our own for the past 15 years, it seems pretty obvious we are no ■■■■■■■ good at it.

Please for God sake try something ■■■■■■■ new.

3 Likes

At the end of the 2008 season we had precisely 0 players on our list from other clubs. Since then, the following players who had previously been drafted by other clubs have donned the sash:

Brent Prismall
Hayden Skipworth
Mark Williams
Brendan Goddard
Shaun Edwards
Kurt Aylett
Paul Chapman
James Gwilt
Jonathan Giles
Adam Cooney
Shaun McKernan
Mitch Brown
Clinton Jones
James Polkinghorne
Jordan Schroder
James Magner
Sam Michael
Mitchell Clisby
Jared Petrenko
Craig Bird
Michael Hartley
James Kelly
Matt Dea
Ryan Crowley
Jonathan Simpkin
Mathew Stokes
Mark Jamar
Sam Grimley
Nathan Grima
James Stewart
Josh Green

To be honest, I’m kinda sick of players from other clubs.

2 Likes

Maybe we are just picking the wrong ones. The Tigers, Cats, Blues and Hawks have done or are doing ok.

Listing Top ups like Clinton Farking Jones is dishonest to the conversation.

15 Likes

The issue that we have is, we rarely target a player who will fit a role which we lack, who is between 10-20 best player on their current club’s list.

We either target elite players who’s manager’s are just looking to bump up the value, or players who aren’t getting games. Nothing in between.

The issue is that the 10-20 best players are valued highly at each club, especially if they are aged between 19-25. So your gonna need to hand over a first round or second round pick to get any trade done.

1 Like