Working full-time, studying (law) part-time

Has anyone done this? I’m currently studying a stand-alone foundations of law subject as part of my PD at work (good employer) - but I’m considering doing the LLB next year. Even though, it’ll take me a long time (approx 6-8 years) studying law part-time, I’m interested to hear any experiences juggling the both - even if it’s not law.

SB, a couple of thoughts…

Firstly the fact you have a good and understanding employer is excellent.

I currently mix part-time work and full time uni (not law however; business and commerce) and that seems to keep me pretty busy.

I reckon if you think you can manage the full-time work and part-time study, absolutely go for it. The thing being however you’d probably need to committ most of your evenings during the week be it for night classes/your own study.
There is also the added advantage of sneaking some uni-related work in during your day job if you get some down time/not as much workload etc.

It’s basically all about balance and planning your weeks; if you think you can fit it all in and manage it, then it’s definitely worth a crack. The other thing is that there might have to be the odd compromise for social activities/some weekends.

I don’t do Law but from what I have heard it is a grind; I’m sure there are others that can agree on this. It’s time consuming and a lot of reading, but normally with a great end outcome.

Best of luck!

Go for it, SB!

There are several excellent lawyers on BB who can give you great practical advice, but my advice is to get what qualifications you can. They will stand you in good stead no matter what course you later choose in life.

Yeah, look, Ive managed to do decently if unspectacularly throughout my law degree by giving each unit one full 9-5 day of commitment. If youre doing two units per semester then I reckon you might be able to squeeze it in over the weekend, with a little bit more time commitment required around assignment time.